Gov. Parson appoints Grant City Mayor Deborah Roach to NWMSU Board of Regents

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • Print


St. Joseph Post

Drone campus August 22, 2018. (Photo Todd Weddle | Northwest Missouri State University)

Gov. Mike Parson has appointed Deborah Roach of Grant City to the Northwest Missouri State University Board of Regents.

Roach is an interim appointment and can serve immediately. She will face confirmation by the Missouri Senate next year.

Roach, a Democrat, replaces John Richmond (D) of Albany. If confirmed by the Senate, Roach will serve until the end of January 2025.

Roach has been with the United States Postal Service for nearly 20 years. She is officer-in-charge of the Grant City Post Office and postmaster at Sheridan. She is executive vice president of the Missouri Chapter of the United Postmasters and Managers of America and was Missouri Postmaster of the Year in 2013.

Roach also serves as Grant City mayor, now in her 10th year. She served nine years on the city council.

Northwest has a nine-member Board of Regents.

Dr. Patrick B. Harr (R), of Maryville, serves as Board chair, and Dr. Marilou Joyner (D), of Kansas City, is vice chair. Jason Klindt (R), of Kearney; John Moore (I), of Raymore; Richard N. Smith (R), of Coffey; George Speckman (I), of St. Joseph; and Roxanna Swaney (R), of Liberty; round out the Board. The seat of the Board’s student regent is vacant.